Homemade XL Ritz Cookies

I have a confession.
I love my husband and would never do anything to hurt him.
But I did something bad: I gave him a sweet tooth.

Rob grew up eating healthy meals made by his mom, and he didn’t really crave chocolate and sweets. Well, that unfortunately has changed since he married chocolate-loving me.

Don’t get me wrong; we still eat healthy, and I don’t bake indulgent treats nearly as often as I want to. But I do fall into the tempting trap of the Sugar Monster on occasion, and I’ve unintentionally dragged Rob into this trap with me. I’m a horrible person.

But on a happier note, I made some awesome chocolate peanut butter cookies! After dinner the other night, Rob sheepishly told me he wanted chocolate. I wasn’t about to turn down a request for dessert, so here’s what I made!

XL Homemade Ritz Cookies by {www.milkandcerealblog.wordpress.com}

 

Have you ever had Ritz cookies? You know, the peanut butter Ritz Bits sandwiches, dipped in chocolate. They’re so easy to make and so fantastic. Well I rarely buy Ritz Bits sandwiches, but we usually have Ritz crackers on hand, and I always have peanut butter and chocolate of course. Thus was born the XL Homemade Ritz Cookie!

XL Homemade Ritz Cookies by {www.milkandcerealblog.wordpress.com}

Ingredients:

  • 40 Ritz Crackers (I use the “Hint of Salt” variety to cut out some sodium.)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (Homemade peanut butter is GREAT in these!)
  • 2 cups chocolate chips, or your preference of chopped chocolate (I used white chocolate and milk chocolate, but feel free to use your favorite kind. Half semi-sweet and half dark chocolate is a lovely combination.)

Instructions:

  1. Line a baking sheet or a tray with parchment or wax paper. 
  2. Spread 20 crackers with peanut butter, almost one teaspoon per sandwich.
  3. Top the peanut butter with another cracker, and repeat with the remaining crackers. Then pop the sandwiches in the refrigerator while you melt the chocolate.
  4. Place all the chocolate in a microwave-safe bowl, and melt it on medium-high heat for one minute (Using a double boiler is entirely fine, too.). Stir the chocolate, then heat it for an additional 30 seconds. Stir the chocolate until smooth, and heat further in 30-seconds increments if needed.
  5. Take the Ritz sandwiches out of the fridge, and dip them one at a time in the melted chocolate. Turn the sandwich to coat it, and place it on the lined baking sheet or tray. Repeat with remaining peanut butter sandwiches.
  6. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes, or freeze if you’re crunched for time, and enjoy! Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container. (They’ll be fine stored at room temp, but they may get a little “melty.”)

XL Homemade Ritz Cookies by {www.milkandcerealblog.wordpress.com}

Well, there you have it. Three simple ingredients are all it takes to make these chocolatey, peanut buttery goodies. They don’t require dirtying tons of dishes, and if you opt for the freezer-chilling method, they don’t even take long to make. All around win, people.

XL Homemade Ritz Cookies by {www.milkandcerealblog.wordpress.com}

So far, I’ve made these cookies with white chocolate, with milk chocolate, and with a mixture of semi-sweet and dark chocolate. What kind of chocolate will you use to make your XL Homemade Ritz Cookies?

© Milk & Cereal. All images & content are copyright protected. Please do not use my images without prior permission. If you want to republish this recipe, please re-write the recipe in your own words, or link back to this post for the recipe.

9 thoughts on “Homemade XL Ritz Cookies

  1. Leah

    Mmm, these sound so good. It’s funny that you talk about giving your husband a sweet tooth because I think I’ve done the same thing with my boyfriend. Oops! 😉

    Reply
  2. windykitchen

    I am obsessed with these! I had never heard of them before this past Christmas, when I was visiting my parents and my mom decided to make them (covered in white chocolate, with a milk chocolate drizzle, if you’re interested). And then I had about one billion of them. And then my pants didn’t fit so well for awhile.

    I’m sure your husband loved them 🙂

    Reply
    1. milkandcerealblog Post author

      Mmmmm, white chocolate with a milk chocolate drizzle sounds heavenly! Good call on that.

      I, too, eat about one million of them when I make the tiny bite-sized ones (the ones with store-bought Ritz Bits), so I try to limit myself to half a million with these XL ones, haha.

      Reply

Leave a comment