Mom’s Blonde Brownies

Happy November, everyone!

Did Halloween leave you with an abundance of M&Ms?

If so, put them to use in these blonde brownies! If not, go buy some post-Halloween-sale M&Ms and make these blonde brownies! 😀

This is a recipe my mom has been making for as long as I can remember– and for as long as she can remember! She told me she made these when she was a little girl, and she and her sister used to bake them for their favorite teachers in high school. And now I know where I got my goodie-two-shoes trait from. 😉 Haha. There’s nothing wrong with showing appreciation by bringing someone a delicious plate of treats, is there?

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 2/3 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • –––––––––––––––
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1/2 cup M&Ms

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Beat together the oil and sugar. Add the remaining ingredients (except for the chips and M&Ms), and beat until smooth. The batter will be fairly thick!
  3. Pour the batter into a large jelly roll pan (mine’s 17×12), and spread it out so that it reaches all the edges and corners. (A combination of spreading with a spatula and shaking the pan back and forth seems to work best.) The layer will be very thin, but don’t worry; that’s how it’s supposed to be!
  4. Top the batter with the chocolate and butterscotch chips and the M&Ms. Try to get them pretty evenly distributed, and don’t be sparse with the toppings.** Reeeeally load them on there! 🙂
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Cool before cutting, and enjoy!

** I made these brownies twice this week– The first time, I was too cheap to buy a big bag of M&Ms. Well, two small individual packs were not enough! Turns out, if there aren’t enough toppings on top of the batter, it puffs way up while baking and gets dark pretty quickly, even though the inside isn’t done. SO. Buy the big bag of M&Ms. Load up the chocolate on top, and it will weigh down the batter a bit, and your brownies will be perfect.

This is what loaded looks like!

What do you think?You may get a sugar rush just looking at these, but fear not. They’re not as overloaded with chocolate as they seem. These blonde brownies are fairly thin, so they’re perfectly balanced.

See? Each square has just the right thickness of brownie with a modest amount of chocolate on top. Perfectly balanced!

As for the leftover M&Ms… I cannot be held accountable for what happens to those. 😉

I took the first batch to work with me, and I sent the second batch to work with Rob. Who do you share your homemade goodies with? Friends? Co-workers? Your kids? Your kids’ teachers?

© Milk & Cereal. All images & content are copyright protected. Please do not use my images without prior permission. If you want to republish this recipe, please re-write the recipe in your own words, or link back to this post for the recipe.

7 thoughts on “Mom’s Blonde Brownies

  1. Sally

    YES! I have so many leftover M&Ms! Lots of reese’s pieces too! I plan to make peanut butter reese’s pieces blondies this weekend. 🙂 I’ve never baked blondies in a jelly roll pan before – love it!

    Reply
    1. milkandcerealblog Post author

      Mmmm, peanut butter reese’s pieces blondies sound FANTASTIC!! Mail me some? Haha.

      I like using a jelly roll pan because that’s how my mom always did it, and also because using a jelly roll pan makes for less guilt after eating a whole row of brownies. 😉

      Reply
  2. Pingback: National Blonde Brownie Day - Operation $40K

Leave a comment